4 megatrends reshaping language learning

Similar to emerging trends in corporate training and development, there is a profound transformation in the way we learn foreign languages.

Discover now how 4 megatrends will shape the future of modern education programs for learners and coaches when engaging in language learning ahead of its time.

  1. Project-based learning

In today's business environment, there is a shift to competency-based education.

It is a skill based approach, where employers care more about what individuals are able to do, rather than the degree or qualifications they have.

In parallel, an increasing number of organizations consider micro-credentials such as "badges" to be a better way to organize learning units and to measure and communicate capabilities, than time-based courses. This becomes visible in social networks, where employees openly demonstrate their achievements, using "competencies as currencies".

In our global and diverse economy, proficiency in one or more foreign languages is often considered a necessary skill for employment. In many cases, this generates a learning investment for the employee.

In practice, however, language requirements may be very specific depending on the content of the job and business imperatives: being able to make an impactful sales pitch in English, understanding complex business law expertise in German, sharing strategic sector insights with French-speaking co-workers.

As a result, rather than a linear journey, the learning plan will be increasingly fragmented, project driven, putting focus on the relevant development areas. In fact, it is not about progressing in a language "in general", but rather being able to sustain communication in those areas that are relevant to successfully accomplish the job or project.

For the language learner, this entails quicker, more direct access to proficiency. Similar to other competencies, acquired language skills will be certified through micro-credentials and increase the market value of the talent - who will be able to easily switch employers within their speciality.

For the language coach, this requires not only a true understanding of the learner's job and business, but also the preparation of relevant content. This a shift towards project-driven, tailored language programs, based on measurable key performance indicators. And it is likely to result in a 'per project' rather than 'per lesson' pricing model.

In short, the concept of project-based language learning reflects the complexity and actual breadth it takes to progress in any new language - while offering a fast pace for professionals to access relevant business language.

2. Communication techniques

Language and communication skills are linked and interact.

In business, there is a trend towards learning languages as a means not only to become self-empowered, but also to empower others:

  • Team leaders do consider the impact that their communication style and the language they choose have on the motivation of their colleagues.
  • Summarizing complex matters and transforming them them into easy-to-understand language is one of the core attributes professionals must demonstrate to carry out business efficiently.
Mediation to summarize powerful information

Recently, the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) has recognized that the four traditional language skills of listening, reading, speaking and writing have proved inadequate to reflect the complex reality of communication. Particular focus is now put on the macro-function of "mediation" that enables language speakers to summarize and paraphrase information - hence facilitating plurilingual communication.

"With the extensive use of social media networks, communication styles have become sharper, more direct and straighter to the point. This affects language learners, who oftentimes are penalized by too narrow vocabulary and expressions, making their speech less impactful. »

"Summarize", R. Pawolleck Why Good Communicators Simplify Their Language!

Whether using automated language, stylistic devices or targeted communication techniques, modern language learning will consider the interaction between solid language skills and the need for efficient communication. This places the learner in a position where gaps in language proficiency will not impact the intended message, nor the authenticity of the speaker.

3. Cooperative learning and technology

Certainly, the most radical changes have taken place and will take place in the way we learn languages.

The Covid-19 pandemic has given us a chance to rethink online education and to design language training ahead of its time. It has again accelerated the development of new technology-enabled learning models, including virtual online laboratories, learning pods, micro schools and digital platforms such as "Europeana".

The major trend of the decade will be the accelerated use of artificial intelligence and new digital tools and software, including blockchain technology and machine learning.

New forms of collaborative learning have emerged: the emphasis on face-to-face activities has shifted to partly or fully online meetings and new ways of language learning have emerged, such as the creation of network tandems and groups, blended (some online and some face-to-face) and hybrid learning platforms (some learning at school and some at home).

The use of synchronous, i.e. real-time technologies such as Zoom, Skype, Moodle and virtual classrooms has become a predominant feature of many learning programmes as tools have become more sophisticated and teachers' skills have improved. Temporary challenges such as gaps in home wi-fi access will be quickly overcome. Content platforms such as Padlets and Wakelet are part of all modern e-learning and provide a creative and interactive learning experience. Applications, blogs and podcasts offer unlimited complementary learning opportunities.

Deepen a language wherever necessary

New technologies and more collaborative learning methods will continue to transform language learning curriculums and the way we apply academic content to real-world experiences. It will become easier to create exposure to any target language and social interaction at home or wherever it is needed.

4. Content shaping

Over the past years, an overwhelming supply of language programs, tools and methods has emerged, available at no or low cost to everyone with access to internet.

The growing range of choice, an increasing tendency towards the visual, and connectedness, all driven by technology, have a large impact on how language trainers tailor the learning curriculum.

As an example, selecting meaningful input out of the many videos available on YouTube is a challenge as most content is powerful, though often unstructured, loose and with little concept behind it.

Modern language professionals, who design coaching programs away from traditional books and material, will need to identify and thoroughly select content, convert it into meaningful input and structure the offer.

Content shaping becomes a critical exercise for any language coach, while language learners will benefit from increasingly inspired and personalized learning programs.

In summary, the new language programmes will be project- and goal-oriented and will take into account the link between language skills and communication skills . Language learners will thus be able to measure their progress and will be better positioned in the business and labour market. New forms of digital, cooperative and technological learning will make the learning pathway more efficient, interactive and flexible. Finally, creative language trainers and language coaches, using diverse content, will provide the breadth and inspiration for new language programmes.

Share this article

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

4 mega-tendances qui remodèlent l’apprentissage des langues

À l’instar des nouvelles tendances en matière de formation et de développement dans les entreprises, la manière dont nous apprenons les langues étrangères est en train de se transformer profondément.

Voici comment 4 mega-tendances vont façonner l’avenir de l’apprentissage moderne des langues pour les apprenants et les enseignants en avance sur leur temps.

  1. L’apprentissage par projet

Dans l’environnement commercial actuel, on observe une évolution vers une éducation basée sur les compétences.

Il s’agit d’une approche, où les employeurs se soucient davantage de ce que les individus sont capables de faire, plutôt que du diplôme ou des qualifications qu’ils possèdent.

Parallèlement, un nombre croissant d’organisations considèrent que les micro-certificats tels que les « badges » sont un meilleur moyen d’organiser les unités d’apprentissage, et de mesurer et communiquer les capacités, que les cours basés sur le temps. Cela devient visible dans les réseaux sociaux, où les employés démontrent ouvertement leurs réalisations, en utilisant les compétences comme « monnaie d’échange ».

Dans notre économie mondiale et diversifiée, la maîtrise d’une ou plusieurs langues étrangères est souvent considérée comme une compétence nécessaire pour exercer un emploi. Dans de nombreux cas, cela génère un investissement en matière d’apprentissage pour l’employé.

Dans la pratique cependant, les exigences linguistiques peuvent être très spécifiques en fonction du contenu du poste et des impératifs commerciaux: être capable de faire un discours commercial percutant en anglais, comprendre une expertise complexe en droit des affaires en allemand, partager des informations stratégiques sur le secteur avec des collègues francophones.

En conséquence, plutôt qu’un parcours linéaire, le plan d’apprentissage sera de plus en plus fragmenté, axé sur des projets, et se concentrera sur les domaines de développement pertinents. En fait, il ne s’agit pas de progresser dans une langue « en général », mais plutôt d’être capable de maintenir la communication dans les domaines qui sont pertinents pour accomplir avec succès le travail ou le projet.

Pour l’apprenant en langues, cela implique un accès plus rapide et plus direct à la compétence. Comme pour les autres expertises, les compétences linguistiques acquises seront certifiées par des micro-certificats et augmenteront la valeur marchande du talent – qui pourra facilement changer d’employeur dans sa spécialité.

Pour le formateur en langues, cela nécessite non seulement une véritable compréhension du travail et de l’activité de l’apprenant, mais aussi la préparation d’un contenu pertinent. Il s’agit d’un changement vers des programmes de langues sur mesure, pilotés par des projets et basés sur des indicateurs de performance clés mesurables. Et il est probable qu’il en résultera un modèle de tarification « par projet » plutôt que « par leçon ».

En bref, le concept de l’apprentissage des langues par projet reflète la complexité et l’ampleur réelle des progrès à accomplir dans toute nouvelle langue – tout en offrant aux professionnels un accès rapide à la langue des affaires.

2. Techniques de communication

Les compétences linguistiques et de communication sont liées et interagissent.

Dans le monde des affaires, la tendance est à l’apprentissage des langues comme moyen non seulement de s’autonomiser, mais aussi d’autonomiser les autres :

  • Les managers tiennent compte de l’impact que leur style de communication et la langue choisie ont sur la motivation de leurs collègues
  • Résumer des questions complexes et les traduire dans un langage facile à comprendre est l’un des principaux attributs dont les professionnels doivent faire preuve pour mener à bien leurs activités.
La médiation pour résumer les informations percutantes

Récemment, le Cadre Européen Commun de Référence (CECR) a reconnu que les quatre compétences linguistiques traditionnelles que sont l’écoute, la lecture, l’expression orale et l’écriture se sont révélées inadéquates pour refléter la réalité complexe de la communication. Un accent particulier est désormais mis sur la macro-fonction  » médiation  » qui permet aux locuteurs de langues de résumer et de paraphraser des informations – facilitant ainsi la communication plurilingue.

« Avec l’utilisation étendue des réseaux de médias sociaux, les styles de communication sont devenus plus précis, plus directs et plus concis. Cela affecte les apprenants en langues qui sont souvent pénalisés par un vocabulaire et des expressions trop limités, ce qui rend leur discours moins percutant. »

« Summarize », R. Pawolleck Pourquoi Les Bons Communicants Simplifient Leur Langage!

Que ce soit en utilisant un langage automatisé, des dispositifs stylistiques ou des techniques de communication ciblées, l’apprentissage des langues modernes tiendra compte de l’interaction entre de solides compétences linguistiques et la nécessité d’une communication efficace. Cela place l’apprenant dans une position où les lacunes dans les compétences linguistiques n’auront pas d’impact sur le message visé, ni sur la personnalité du locuteur.

3. Apprentissage coopératif et la technologie

Il est certain que les changements les plus radicaux ont eu et auront lieu dans la manière dont nous apprenons les langues.

La pandémie Covid-19 nous a donné l’occasion de repenser l’éducation en ligne et de concevoir une formation linguistique en avance sur son temps. Elle a de nouveau accéléré le développement de nouveaux modèles d’apprentissage basés sur les technologies, notamment les laboratoires virtuels en ligne, les modules d’apprentissage, les micro-écoles et les plateformes numériques telles qu' »Europeana ».

La grande tendance de la décennie sera l’accélération de l’utilisation de l’intelligence artificielle et des nouveaux outils et logiciels numériques, y compris la technologie des blockchains et l’apprentissage automatique.

De nouvelles formes d’apprentissage coopératif sont apparues : l’accent sur les activités en présentiel s’est déplacé vers des réunions partiellement ou entièrement en ligne et de nouvelles méthodes d’apprentissage des langues sont apparues, telles que la création de tandems et de groupes en réseau, de plates-formes d’apprentissage mixtes (certaines en ligne et d’autres en face à face) et hybrides (certaines à l’école et d’autres à la maison).

L’utilisation de technologies synchrones, c’est-à-dire en temps réel, telles que Zoom, Skype, Moodle et les classes virtuelles, est devenue un élément prédominant de nombreux programmes d’apprentissage, les outils étant devenus plus sophistiqués et les compétences des enseignants s’étant améliorées. Les défis temporaires tels que les lacunes en matière d’accès wi-fi à domicile seront rapidement surmontés. Les plateformes de contenu telles que Padlets et Wakelet font partie de toute formation en ligne moderne et offrent une expérience d’apprentissage créative et interactive. Les applications, les blogs et les podcasts offrent des possibilités d’apprentissage complémentaires illimitées.

Approfondir une langue partout où cela est nécessaire

Les nouvelles technologies et les méthodes d’apprentissage plus coopératives continueront à transformer les programmes d’apprentissage des langues et la manière dont nous appliquons le contenu théorique aux exigences du monde réel. Il deviendra plus facile de créer une exposition à n’importe quelle langue cible et une interaction sociale à la maison ou partout où cela est nécessaire.

4. La mise en forme du contenu

Au cours des dernières années, une offre écrasante de programmes, d’outils et de méthodes linguistiques a vu le jour, accessibles gratuitement ou à faible coût à tous ceux qui ont accès à Internet.

L’éventail croissant des choix, la tendance croissante à l’aspect visuel et la connectivité, tous ces éléments étant déterminés par la technologie, ont un impact important sur la façon dont les enseignants de langues adaptent le programme d’apprentissage.

Par exemple, la sélection de contributions significatives parmi les nombreuses vidéos disponibles sur YouTube est un défi car la plupart des contenus sont puissants, bien que souvent non structurés, en vrac et peu conceptuels.

Les professionnels des langues modernes, qui conçoivent des programmes d’enseignement en s’éloignant des livres et du matériel traditionnels, devront identifier et sélectionner minutieusement les contenus, les convertir en contributions significatives et apporter une structure à l’offre.

La mise en forme du contenu devient un exercice essentiel pour tout coach en langues, tandis que les apprenants en langues bénéficieront de programmes d’apprentissage de plus en plus inspirés et personnalisés.

En résumé, les nouveaux programmes de langues seront axés sur des projets et des objectifs et tiendront compte du lien entre les compétences linguistiques et les aptitudes à la communication. Les apprenants en langues pourront ainsi mesurer leurs progrès et seront mieux positionnés sur le marché des affaires et de l’emploi. Les nouvelles formes d’apprentissage numérique, coopératif et technologique rendront le parcours d’apprentissage plus efficace, plus interactif et plus souple. Enfin, des formateurs et des coachs linguistiques créatifs, en utilisant un contenu diversifié, apporteront l’ampleur et l’inspiration nécessaires aux nouveaux programmes de langues.

Partager cet article

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email